Voting Begins in the 36th European Blues Awards 2016

by europeanbluesawards

We are delighted to announce that voting has begun in the 36th European Blues Awards. See listed finalists below and place your votes before close of play on Wednesday 9th November. Voting is open to all and although volume is expected to far exceed all previous levels, some categories are notoriously closely fought. Results will be announced on Saturday 12th of November 2016 at the Tenby Blues Festival, Wales UK. There will also be a special #BluesHour session on Twitter Monday 14th November – please follow @blueshour for more information.

Thanks to the hundreds of nominations that we received and for your continued support that has made the European Blues Awards the biggest genre accolade outside the USA. As usual there will be a further Award made for Lifetime Contribution to European Blues which will be the choice of the European Blues Awards team.

Best Album/Recorded Session

Fire on the Floor – Beth Hart (USA)

Coming Home – Julian Sas (NL)

A Force of Nature – Sari Schorr (USA)

Rise up from the Ashes – Ulrich Ellison (AT/USA)

Breaking Free – Layla Zoe (Can)

Best Radio Show

Ashwyn Smyth – Digital Blues (EU)

Gary Grainger – The Blues Show (GB)

Tim Aves – The Blues is Back (GB)

Paul Jones – Radio 2 Blues Show (GB)

Best Magazine/Publication

Blues Magazine (NL)

Blues Matters (GB)

Blues in Britain (GB)

Blues News (NO)

Best Festival/Event

Blues on the Farm (GB)

Great British R&B Festival Colne (GB)

Ribs en Blues (NL)

Gevarenwinkel Festival (BE)

Best Vocalist

Layla Zoe (Can)

Sari Schorr (USA)

Lisa Mills (USA)

Best Guitarist

Ryan McGarvey (USA)

Laurence Jones (GB)

Joanne Shaw Taylor (GB)

Danny Bryant (GB)

Best Solo/Acoustic

Dave Arcari (GB)

Bex Marshall (GB)

Eddie Martin (GB)

Matt Andersen (CAN)

Best Musician (Performance)

Julian Sas (NL)

Dale Storr (GB)

Paul Lanb (GB)

Best Band

Wilko Johnson Band (GB)

Band of Friends (EU)

Tedeschi Trucks Band (USA)

Tommy Castro and the Painkillers (USA)