European Blues Awards

Categories, Nominees & Voting Method for European Blues Awards

European Blues Awards Winners announcement 2018 revealed

We are pleased to report that 38th European Blues Awards 2018 results announcement will be made in Ireland for the very first time. There will be a Special Edition of Blues Train on Radio Dublin City 103.2 FM from 23.00 CET/22.00 GMT/17.00 EST on Sunday 25th November 2018 hosted by finalist Charlie Hussey. The results will also be posted during #BluesHour twitter forum 21.00 CET/20.00 GMT on Monday 26th November 2018

Dublin City FM

Website and listen-live link for Blues Train Dublin City 103.2 FM is


Voting has now closed – European Blues Awards 2018


Voting has now closed in 38th European Blues Awards. Very big thank you to everyone who voted and all the wonderful finalists in this year’s process. Early indications looking like it has been another record vote and the awards remain the longest running and biggest genre accolade outside the USA. Updates and information regarding the upcoming international results announcement will be posted during #BluesHour forum on twitter 21.00hrs CET/20.00hrs GMT/15.00hrs EST Monday 12th November 2018 and also posted on website

Here is a list of the finalists for 2018 and there will also be a Lifetime Contribution Award that was decided this year by followers of #BluesHour

Best Band

Malone Sibun Band – King King  – Band of Friends


Best Guitarist

Joe Bonamassa – Erja Lyytinen – Kris Barras


Best Vocalist (Female)

Beth Hart – Layla Zoe – Elles Bailey


Best Vocalist (Male)

Alan Nimmo – Marcus Bonfanti – Joe Bonamassa


Best Solo/Acoustic

Bex Marshall – Eddie Martin – Dave Arcari


Best Musician (Performance)

Susan Santos – Paul Lamb – Lisa Mann


Best Album

Carolina Confessions – Marcus King Band – Almost Transparent Blues – Wliy Bo Walker -High Cost of Low Living – Nick Moss Band – The Divine and Dirty – Kris Barras Band -Never Say Never – Sari Schorr


Best Event/Festival

Ribs en Blues Festival Raalte – Rawa Blues Festival Katowice – Great British R & B Festival Colne – Notodden Blues Festival


Best Radio Show

Cerys Matthews Blues Show – Charlie Hussey Blues Train – Amy Rose Atkinson Bluenotes


Best Magazine/Publication 

Blues Matters (UK) – Blues Magazine (NL)

European Blues Awards 2018 – Latest News Update


Voting in the 2018 European Blues Awards will begin at the end of October and last for 7 days. There will be 10 Categories this year that comprise of Best  Band, Best Guitarist, Best Musician (performance), Best Male Vocalist, Best Female Vocalist, Best Solo/Acoustic, Best Festival/Event, Best Album/Recorded Session, Best Radio Show and the Lifetime Contribution Award. All nominees must have played in Europe since November 2017 and no team members/associates or 3 times previous winners are eligible.

Record disc

In the meantime we encourage followers of the weekly online Blues twitter forum #BluesHour to post their opinions especially with regard to the extremely broad choice option of Best Album/Recorded Session. There is also the option of emailing a suggestion but as this is not yet the voting process we request that a single message will do. At this time of year we also stress we cannot reply to all individual emails but everything sent will be read and taken into consideration by the team. We look forward to another fantastic vote and thank everyone for their continued and highly valued support.

EBA Team

European Blues Awards artists at Great British Rhythm & Blues Festival UK 2018

Colne logo 2018

Lisa Mills Colne Blues S

Amongst an extremely full programme of current and former awards finalists were Lisa Mills who performed on the Main Stage Saturday 25th August

Malone Siburn Band Colne Blues S

Along with Marcus Malone and Innes Siburn also on Saturday 25th August

Elles Bailey Colne Blues S

Then Elles Bailey took the stage on Sunday 26th August during the multi award winning event

(photos courtesy Bluesman Mike Francis)

Latest Awards Presentation News Update


Erja 2 save S       Blues Overdirve







Finland’s Erja Lyytinen with Best Guitarist 2017 and Denmark’s Blues Overdrive with Best Album 2017 for Overdrive Live

        Upton Presentation S

European Blues Award finalist and festival performer Bex Marshall presents Ruth and Graham of Upton Blues Festival UK their Award for Best Festival 2017 during last month’s event.


Blues Matters awarded European Blues Awards Best Publication 2017

Alan Blues Matters 1 Award Social Media size file

Editor Alan Pearce recently received the European Blues Award for Best Publication 2017. Seen here with with award and latest 130 page issue, Alan has run the magazine throughout its evolution over many years that includes extensive media support for European festivals and events as well as running a label.

Walter Trout gets his European Lifetime Contribution Award 2017

Walter Trout 1 Cut S

In 2017 for the very first time, the participants in the weekly twitter forum #BluesHour were given the job of nominating the winner of Lifetime Contribution in European Blues normally selected by the team. Walter Trout was a very popular choice and is seen here being presented his award by Germany’s Cheri Lyn at the recent Leicester Blues Festival UK. On getting the news in November last year Walter expressed his thanks and was very grateful to be recognised in this way. We would like to thank Solid Entertainments for their assistance with the presentation.