European Blues Awards

Categories, Nominees & Voting Method for European Blues Awards

European Blues Awards artists at Great British Rhythm & Blues Festival UK 2018

Colne logo 2018

Lisa Mills Colne Blues S

Amongst an extremely full programme of current and former awards finalists were Lisa Mills who performed on the Main Stage Saturday 25th August

Malone Siburn Band Colne Blues S

Along with Marcus Malone and Innes Siburn also on Saturday 25th August

Elles Bailey Colne Blues S

Then Elles Bailey took the stage on Sunday 26th August during the multi award winning event

(photos courtesy Bluesman Mike Francis)

Latest Awards Presentation News Update


Erja 2 save S       Blues Overdirve







Finland’s Erja Lyytinen with Best Guitarist 2017 and Denmark’s Blues Overdrive with Best Album 2017 for Overdrive Live

        Upton Presentation S

European Blues Award finalist and festival performer Bex Marshall presents Ruth and Graham of Upton Blues Festival UK their Award for Best Festival 2017 during last month’s event.


Blues Matters awarded European Blues Awards Best Publication 2017

Alan Blues Matters 1 Award Social Media size file

Editor Alan Pearce recently received the European Blues Award for Best Publication 2017. Seen here with with award and latest 130 page issue, Alan has run the magazine throughout its evolution over many years that includes extensive media support for European festivals and events as well as running a label.

Walter Trout gets his European Lifetime Contribution Award 2017

Walter Trout 1 Cut S

In 2017 for the very first time, the participants in the weekly twitter forum #BluesHour were given the job of nominating the winner of Lifetime Contribution in European Blues normally selected by the team. Walter Trout was a very popular choice and is seen here being presented his award by Germany’s Cheri Lyn at the recent Leicester Blues Festival UK. On getting the news in November last year Walter expressed his thanks and was very grateful to be recognised in this way. We would like to thank Solid Entertainments for their assistance with the presentation.

Ryan McGarvey’s dual award presentation in London



Guitarist Ryan McGarvey received 2 European Blues Awards for Best Guitarist 2016 and Best Solo/Acoustic 2017 from Pete Feenstra at London’s Beaverwood Blues Club on Thursday 7th June . Ryan had been unable to tour Europe with his band in 2017 and therefore the 2016 presentation had been delayed. In front of a packed house he accepted both awards and was delighted to be recognised once again by the biggest independent genre vote outside the USA.

photo courtesy of Mark Hughes

Awards Presentations for 2017 now under way

Beth Hart was presented her European Blues Award for Best Female Vocalist 2017 at the Cheltenham Jazz Festival UK on Saturday of the May Bank Holiday event. Beth won the award in a record vote count and follows up her previous accolade for Best Album with Fire on the Floor in 2016. She was delighted to receive it and thanks all her fans voted in such numbers

         Beth Hart Cut S

More awards to be presented soon and hope to have the new website online very soon as well

EBA Team

Blues Matters wins European Blues Award for Best Publication 2017

Blues Matters 3

Winners of the 37th European Blues Awards 2017 were announced at Manchester Blues Festival on Sunday 26th November and again on Monday evening at the #BluesHour forum on Twitter.

We are delighted to say that Blues Matters Magazine are the WINNERS of BEST PUBLICATION 2017

image of the logo for the European Blues Awards

A few words from our Editor-In-Cheif – Alan Pearce (Founder & Sole Owner)

“As Blues Matters! approaches it’s landmark 100th issue and pays respect to its beginnings we learn that we have just won the European Blues Awards as best Blues publication for 2017.

Our sincere thanks to those that saw fit to bestow the honour upon us this year, it is always good to know you are watching to see how we do.

Winners announced in all categories are…

Best Album – Blues OverdriveOverdrive Live (DEN)

Best Festival – Upton Blues Festival (UK)

Best Female Vocalist – Beth Hart (USA)

Best Male Vocalist – Ian Siegal (UK)

Best Guitarist – Erja Lyytinen (FIN)

Best Radio Show – Paul Jones Radio 2 Blues Show (UK)

Best Publication – Blues Matters Magazine (UK)

Best Solo/Acoustic – Ryan McGarvey (USA)

Best Musician (Performance) – Anthony Gomes (CAN)

Best Band – Thorbjorn Risager and the Black Tornado (DEN)

Lifetime Contribution Award (Awarded by followers of #BluesHour) Walter Trout (USA)

Post reproduced and remains copyright of Blues Matters Magazine December 3 2017