European Blues Awards

Categories, Nominees & Voting Method for European Blues Awards

Tag: european blues awards results

Voting has now ended for 2015

After an extremely high turnout that once again exceeded all expectations, voting has now closed for 2015. More countries than ever before took part in the process and results will be announced later today 7th November at the Brooklyn Bowl Stage during the Blues Festival UK in London. There will also be a special #BluesHour forum session (hosted by @blueshour) on twitter this Monday 9th November from 20.00 GMT/21.00 CET/15.00 EST on the European Blues Awards stories and results 2015.


Voting begins for European Blues Awards 2015


At last its that time again. Get voting in all 9 open categories in the 2015 European Blues Awards. Some really fantastic talent to choose from and voting ends midday GMT Saturday 7th November. Results will be released that weekend at Blues Festival London UK and presentations will follow soon after. Thanks to everyone that helped with the nomination process and please join in with the weekly twitter forum @blueshour using/following the hashtag #BluesHour for updates. The European Blues Awards are now the biggest independent genre recognition outside the USA and in 2016 will celebrate their 35th anniversary.

Best Musician (Performance) 2015

Dale Storr (uk)     Paul Lamb (uk)   Ted McKenna (eu)

Best Radio Show 2015

Dave Watkins Blues & Roots (uk)   Ashwyn Smyth Digital Blues (eu)    Paul Jones BBC Blues Show Radio 2 (uk)

Best Publication 2015

Blues Matters (uk)   Blues Magazine (nl)   The Blues Magazine (uk)

Best Album/Recorded Session 2015

Lawrence Jones – Whats it gonna be (uk)   The Blues Overdrive – Clinch (dk) Selwyn Birchwood – Don’t call no Ambulance (usa)   Seasick Steve – Sonic Soul Surfer (eu/usa)    John Lee Hooker – Folk Law of JLH/Folk Blues (re-rel)     King King – Reaching for the Light (uk)

Best Solo/Acoustic Act 2015

Bex Marshall (uk)     Seasick Steve (eu/usa)    Matt Anderson (can)

Best Vocalist 2015

Kyla Brox (uk)     Ian Siegal (uk)   Layla Zoe (can)   Marcus Bonfanti  (uk)

Best Festival/Event 2015

Ribs en Blues Festival (nl)   Great British R&B Festival Colne (uk)      Suwalki Blues Festival (pl)   Manchester Blues Festival – MABS (uk)

Best Guitarist 2015

Lawrence Jones (uk)     Ryan McGarvey (usa)      Danny Bryant  (uk)    Samantha Fish (usa)

Best Band 2015

The Blues Band (uk)   Mike Zito and the Wheel (usa)   Mojo Makers (dk)

Leif de Leeuw Band (nl)

There will be a further Award for Lifetime Contribution which as normal will be decided by the EBA team. Thanks for voting in this years European Blues Awards.

2014 Winners will now be announced on Wednesday 12th November


Following the recent cancellation of the Awards ceremony at the Royal Albert Hall London UK, we are pleased to say that the 2014 European Blues Awards results will be announced during the Digital Blues Show on Gateway 97.8 FM by Ashwyn Smyth. You will be able to access this by logging on to from 21.00 hrs GMT/22.00 CET/16.00 EST on Wednesday 12th November. The team would like to thank Ashwyn for kindly stepping in at the 11th hour to provide this facility following the sad passing of nominee Jack Bruce which had rendered the previous arrangement inappropriate.

The voting volume and interest this year has been absolutely phenomenal and thanks to the tens of thousands of you who make this whole situation work so well. It is hard to believe that the actual concept began some 34 years ago as a friends dispute between two organisers in a German American Club in South West Germany. However since going digital and stumbling into the 21st century just two years ago, the European Blues Awards are not only the longest established, but probably now the biggest genre accolade outside the USA.

We would once again like to point out that the European Blues Awards are totally independent and have no commercial connection with any such body or group of a similar name. They are run without sponsorship or charitable connections and are open to all, voted for by the blues loving public. The object of the exercise remains to protect the future of such a wonderful musical genre by raising awareness at all levels. Please join the #BluesHour forum by following @blueshour on twitter every single Monday from 20.00 GMT/21.00 CET/15.00 EST using the hashtag to spread your news on the Blues!

EBA Team

Voting has now ended for European Blues Awards 2014

This evening voting closed in this year’s European Blues Awards with incredible tens of thousands of participants making this by far the biggest response ever. Many thanks to all that have supported the Awards and helped to promote the awareness of the world’s greatest musical genre. Thanks also for all your wonderful messages that make our non-sponsored unfunded efforts so worthwhile.


The late Jack Bruce

European Blues Awards 2014 are dedicated to the late great Jack Bruce who sadly passed away since this year’s voting process began last Thursday. Our thoughts are with his family at this time and the world of blues is devastated by the news.



BEST GUITARIST – Winner – Virgil McMahon.

BEST BAND – Winner – Gerry McAvoy’s Band of Friends

BEST EVENT/FESTIVAL – Winner – Great British R&B Festival (Colne)

BEST SOLO/ACOUSTIC – Winner  – Matt Andersen

BEST PUBLICATION – Winner – Blues Magazine (Netherlands)

BEST MUSICIAN (PERFORMANCE) – Winner – Rob Townsend (Blues Band/Manfred Mann)

BEST RADIO SHOW – Winner – Paul Jones (BBC Radio 2)

LIFETIME CONTRIBUTION TO EUROPEAN BLUES (Awarded by the team) – Winner – Wilko Johnson

BEST VOCALIST – Winner – Ian Siegal

Congratulations to all the highly deserving winners. Voting volume was absolutely phenomenal and thanks to everyone who voted and made this year’s awards such a tremendous success. Presentations are in the process of being made and please follow our weekly twitter forum #BluesHour from 20.00 GMT every week for more information, updates and coverage

Our special thanks to Carlisle International Blues Festival UK for doing a really brilliant job in hosting this year’s results.

Voting has now closed for 2013


Voting has now closed for the 2013 European Blues Awards. The response has been absolutely tremendous and counting has now begun. The results will be announced at the UK’s Carlisle International Blues Festival this weekend from Friday 8th November and an official announcement will be made on the @blueshour account #BluesHour weekly forum through twitter on Monday 11th November from 20.00 GMT.

A very big thanks to everyone who voted for and supported the awards process this year and for being patient during the unavoidable delays during the middle of October. Please see previous post for list of all award categories and nominations  in the European Blues Awards 2013.

The EBA team.