European Blues Awards

Categories, Nominees & Voting Method for European Blues Awards

2014 Winners will now be announced on Wednesday 12th November


Following the recent cancellation of the Awards ceremony at the Royal Albert Hall London UK, we are pleased to say that the 2014 European Blues Awards results will be announced during the Digital Blues Show on Gateway 97.8 FM by Ashwyn Smyth. You will be able to access this by logging on to from 21.00 hrs GMT/22.00 CET/16.00 EST on Wednesday 12th November. The team would like to thank Ashwyn for kindly stepping in at the 11th hour to provide this facility following the sad passing of nominee Jack Bruce which had rendered the previous arrangement inappropriate.

The voting volume and interest this year has been absolutely phenomenal and thanks to the tens of thousands of you who make this whole situation work so well. It is hard to believe that the actual concept began some 34 years ago as a friends dispute between two organisers in a German American Club in South West Germany. However since going digital and stumbling into the 21st century just two years ago, the European Blues Awards are not only the longest established, but probably now the biggest genre accolade outside the USA.

We would once again like to point out that the European Blues Awards are totally independent and have no commercial connection with any such body or group of a similar name. They are run without sponsorship or charitable connections and are open to all, voted for by the blues loving public. The object of the exercise remains to protect the future of such a wonderful musical genre by raising awareness at all levels. Please join the #BluesHour forum by following @blueshour on twitter every single Monday from 20.00 GMT/21.00 CET/15.00 EST using the hashtag to spread your news on the Blues!

EBA Team

Voting has now ended for European Blues Awards 2014

This evening voting closed in this year’s European Blues Awards with incredible tens of thousands of participants making this by far the biggest response ever. Many thanks to all that have supported the Awards and helped to promote the awareness of the world’s greatest musical genre. Thanks also for all your wonderful messages that make our non-sponsored unfunded efforts so worthwhile.


The late Jack Bruce

European Blues Awards 2014 are dedicated to the late great Jack Bruce who sadly passed away since this year’s voting process began last Thursday. Our thoughts are with his family at this time and the world of blues is devastated by the news.

Voting Opens for European Blues Awards 2014


Voting in the 2014 European Blues Awards is now officially open. Voting is open to all and one vote will be counted per category. The process will end at Midnight GMT on Tuesday 28th October and results will be released at Blues Fest UK during the later part of that week during the festival before being posted on this website and the twitter forum #BluesHour on Monday 3rd November from 20.00 GMT/15.00 EST. There are nine categories as follows with one Lifetime Contribution to be awarded by the team. The European Blues Awards are completely independent, have no sponsorship and reflect the views of the Blues loving public worldwide. Keeping the Blues Alive!

BEST BAND – Nominees Gary Clark Jr (usa) – Royal Southern Brotherhood (usa) – Band of Friends (eu)

BEST GUITARIST – Nominees Ryan McGarvey (usa) – Samantha Fish (usa) – Virgil McMahon (uk) – Chantel McGregor (uk)

BEST EVENT/FESTIVAL – Nominees Notodden Blues Festival (no) – Le Buis Blues Festival (fr) – Great British R&B Festival Colne (uk)

BEST VOCALIST – Nominees Kyla Brox (uk) – Ian Siegal (uk) – Marcus Bonfanti (uk) – Mud Morganfield (usa)

BEST SOLO/ACOUSTIC – Nominees Matt Andersen (ca) – Papa George (uk) – Kris Dollimore (uk)

BEST PUBLICATION – Nominees Blues Magazine (nl) – Blues Matters (uk) – The Blues Magazine (uk)

BEST MUSICIAN (PERFORMANCE) – Nominees Jack Bruce (uk) – Joan Pau Cumellas (es) – Paul Lamb (uk)

BEST RADIO SHOW – Nominees Ashwyn Smyth Digital Blues (eu) –– Tim Aves Blues is Back (uk) – Paul Jones Blues Show (uk) – Dave Watkins Blues & Roots (uk)

BEST ALBUM/RECORDED SESSION – Nominees – Marcus Malone, Stand or Fall (uk/usa) – Imelda May, Tribal (eire) – Thorbjorn Risager, Too Many Roads (dk) – Rory Gallagher, Kickback City (eire)



More information coming soon. Follow daily updates on twitter @blueshour & join us for #BluesHour forum every Monday at 20.00 GMT/15.00 EST

A number of showcase European Blues Awards gigs will be announced throughout Europe for early 2015. Information to be posted very soon.


A Whole Load of History and Impersonators over the Years

This October the European Blues Awards (formerly the Trans European Blues and Jazz Awards) celebrate 34 years in existence. There have been many worthy winners and nominees alike during that time and the European Blues Awards remain the longest running independent genre accolade outside the USA. The organisation entered the 21st Century during 2013 when the process was linked to social media and went digital.

As you can imagine there have been many impersonators along the way and feel it a tribute to our long standing achievement that this should be so. There have been challenges, unions, associations and even invasions! We feel it our duty in the memory of our recently passed colleague and friend Katarina to maintain the individuality and independence of what we do and here are a few famous faces you may well recognise from over the years.

Ginger Baker

Ginger Baker 1988 (also nominated again in 2013)

Jonas Hellborg

Jonas Hellborg 1987

Tony McPhee

Tony McPhee 1991 & 2004

Voting for the 2014 European Blues Awards is scheduled to begin on Wednesday 15th October. Please follow @blueshour for regular updates and information. Here’s to another 34 great years!

European Blues Awards artists to hit Great British R&B Festival 2014 Colne UK

In a magnificent scoop the European Blues Awards winners of Best Festival 2013 have billed a number of both former nominated and winning acts for the Great British R&B Festival 2014 Colne UK from 22nd to 25th August. Looking forward to it already!


Tony McPhee

Tony McPhee (with Groundhogs) – Saturday


Band of Friends

Band of Friends – Friday


  Bluesman Mike F

Bluesman Mike Francis (with Sisters in Grease) – Sunday


   Kyla Brox Main

Kyla Brox – Saturday

photos courtesy of the artists websites and not for commercial use

Recorded Category returns for European Blues Awards 2014


Record disc

For 2014 we are re-introducing the Best Recording category section in the European Blues Awards but due to social media extension, with a difference… Voting will begin as normal once the nominations have been posted from 15th October. Therefore if you hear anything especially wonderful over coming months (or have a special new release or session to shout about) please share it by posting on twitter any Monday from 15.00 EST/20.00 GMT using the hash tag #BluesHour in your tweet.

Recordings in the public domain, such as broadcast sessions and album material by an artist/artists who have played live in Europe since November 2013 are applicable and we look forward to receiving your suggestions links and recommendations. (NB YouTube soundtracks cannot qualify for this category due to world copyright restrictions)  The European Blues Awards are uniquely independent and free from sponsorship thus reflecting the true opinion of the European fan base.                                                                                                                                The EBA team  @blueshour


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers